What George and Basketball Have Taught Me

Today was an amazing day.

Last May I had the pleasure of hearing George Couros’ keynote address via an e-learning conference hosted during the OAME conference.  That day in May he touched my heart and I knew immediately that I wanted the awesome educators in our board to hear his message.

So, today George came to Bracebridge.  He made us laugh and cry and cheer and clap.  He even made himself cry!  My favourite line of the day was when George was wiping his tears, “Sorry, I find myself so inspirational.”  And he was!

He put change and hardship in perspective by telling stories of his Dad and his Greek family.   It put the change and hardship we see daily in education into perspective.  When you consider the challenges that George’s Dad was faced with when he first came over to Canada, can we really complain about moving from Word to Google Docs?

This year I learned about change and hardship from my daughter.  On February 10th, Alexis tore her ACL and meniscus while playing basketball.  What followed was 6 weeks on crutches, surgery in June, inclusion in an ACL study at the University of Western Ontario and hours and hours of physiotherapy.  And you know what…she still wants to play basketball.  To me that is resiliency, dealing with change and having heart.  Alexis teaches me so much every day.

 

So thank you @gcouros for an amazing day and thank you Alexis and basketball for teaching me that change is good.

Today I have written my first blog post.  I plan on making my learning public from now.

I am an educator questioning my way forward.  And I look forward to the questions and the change.

Today was an amazing day!

~Andrea

7 Comments

  1. Hi Andrea!

    Congratulations on taking the courageous first step toward making your thinking visible! You have been such a force behind #TLDSBLearns, making it possible for all of us to learn from the work your board is doing.

    It is critical to create the conditions that encourage all learners to make their thinking visible so that we can learn from each other. You are modelling that practice for all of us!

    I look forward to continuing to learn from you as you share your thinking here with us.

    Keep at it!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So true Donna (“making it possible for all of us to learn from the work…”, and thanks Andrea for sharing with fellow educators. I love that I can see the work across Ontario (and North America!) because of people like you who are willing to share their experiences.

    Like

  3. Pingback: This Week in Ontario Edublogs | doug — off the record

Leave a Reply

